Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Clive Jenkins
for string orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Originals No.178

Catalogue Number: GMCO178

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222314719

View Score

Play Audio

Fair Maid & the Knight  Pack image
Orchestration: Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

I composed this two-movement work in 2014 to thank Malcolm Latchem, violinist-director of the Pressenda Ensemble, for many highly professional performances of my compositions for string orchestra. Its premiere on 1st March 2015 in Dartington Great Hall was at Malcolm's retirement concert after well over 60 years as a professional violinist. Before moving to Devon to join the Dartington String Quartet, Malcolm had had a long career in London orchestras including 43 years in the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields of which he was a founder member. I wanted this piece to reflect two contrasting aspects of Malcolm’s wide-ranging musical personality - the gentle soul and the tough guy. Clive Jenkins

Duration 8½ minutes
A PACK includes a full score plus string parts 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.