Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Philip Henderson
ON THE BEACH WITH ALICE for cello and orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Originals Series GMCO108

Catalogue Number: GMCO108

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222290600

View Score

Play Audio

On the Beach with Alice  Pack image
ORCHESTRATION: Piccolo, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb & A, Bassoon, 2 Horns in F, Percussion (5 players: Vibraphone, Gong, Triangle, Cymbal [susp], Bass drum, Snare drum, Tambourine), Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass), Solo Cello

This work, a cello concerto in all but name, was inspired by an old black and white photograph taken on Sheerness beach with a very young Philip Henderson huddling up to Alice, his mother, at the waters edge. She had just been made a widow following the tragic death of Philip's father, and she had taken her son and daughter for a trip to the seaside, despite their great loss.
There are four movements: Sunrise; Morning Delight; Dancing in the Midday Sun; Castles of Sand.
A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and all wind, brass and percussion parts.
A reduction for cello and piano is also on sale - Goodmusic GM136
Duration 18 minutes

On the beach with Alice received its World Premiere in Beijing on 3rd November 2013 played by the Beijing Youth Orchestra conducted by Shane O'Shea with Jacob Shaw as soloist.
The audio file is an actual performance played by Jacob Shaw and not a computer-generated one!

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.