Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Theron Kirk
Goodmusic Concert Originals Series GMCO096

Catalogue Number: GMCO096

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222285606

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Latham Suite  Pack image
Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass

Theron Kirk was an American educator and composer who was born in 1919 and died in October 1999.
He is the composer of more than 1,000 published works for chorus, chamber groups, symphony orchestra, vocal solo, organ, carillon, and a one-act opera. The Philadelphia Orchestra, Chicago Chamber Orchestra and the orchestras of Winnipeg Canada, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Memphis, Detroit, San Antonio and Houston have performed his symphonic works.
Theron Kirk has held the national office of president of the American Choral Directors Association. He has taught as a visiting lecturer in the summer program at the University of Southern California, the University of Illinois, Central Missouri State University College and at the National Music Camp, Interlochen, Michigan, in the University of Michigan Music Division.
Kirk joined the San Antonio College faculty in 1955 and served as chairperson of the music department and director of the chorale, band, and chamber orchestra for many years before his retirement in 1986. After retirement, he became active as a docent at the San Antonio Museum of Art.
His education includes study at Baylor University, Chicago Musical College of Roosevelt University and the Eastman School of Music. His honors include the Orpheus Award by the national music fraternity Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia for "significant and lasting contributions to the cause of Music in America" and the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award for teaching excellence in 1975.
The suite is in three movements: March; Elegy; Finale
A PACK comprises one full score and strings 4/4/3/4/2
Duration 9 minutes

This work was originally published in 1966 by Oxford University Press. It has been newly typeset for this republished Goodmusic edition but the new Goodmusic score and parts will be fully compatible with the original OUP edition.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.