Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Paul Carr
Goodmusic Concert Originals Series GMCO087

Catalogue Number: GMCO087

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222276307

View Score

Play Audio

Concerto for Clarinet  Pack image
Solo Clarinet in Bb, Timpani (x3), Percussion (2 players: Triangle, Side Drum, Bass Drum, Gong, Slap-Stick, Wood Block, Tubular Bells, Crash Cymbals, Tambourine, Bongos, Vibraphone), Harp
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

The concerto (my second for clarinet) is in four linked movements which run through continuously. It opens with a sustained but passionate Paean, beginning gently and building to a climax, before settling into a more reflective section in which vibraphone and harp complement the rising and falling motif in the clarinet and strings. This leads quite naturally into the second movement, a short and thoughtful Contemplation in which, for the most part, the clarinet is left on its own. The third section, Rather fast and lively, is a robust "kitchen sink drama" in which the clarinet starts off in buoyant mood with a simple catchy tune, later becoming more agitated and demonstrative. The music passes between clarinet and strings almost as if they are trying to out-do one another and ending with a forceful outburst in the strings, with percussion and timpani having the last word. The clarinet cannot compete and, in a short accompanied cadenza, slowly relinquishes its position and returns the concerto to its harmonious conclusion with a Quiet ending of relaxed contentment. Paul Carr
Duration about 15 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score, parts for clarinet, percussion and strings 4/4/3/4/2.
The CONCERTO FOR CLARINET is published in this edition for clarinet and orchestra and also for clarinet with piano reduction (see GM043).

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.