Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Philip LANE (b.1950- )
Goodmusic Concert Originals Series GMCO085

Catalogue Number: GMCO085

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222272996

View Score

Play Audio

Lyric Dances  Pack image
Clarinet in Bb and A
2 Horns in F
Trumpet in Bb
Percussion (1 Player: Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Tubular Bell [C#], Mark tree, Cymbals, Triangle, Tambourine)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This set of five dances is based on Philip Lane’s choral settings for upper voices and piano of words by Shakespeare and Lewis Carroll, and is a direct parallel to Richard Rodney Bennett’s "Little Suite", being scored for the same sized orchestra. Although it is not vital to be aware of the original texts, no.2 might be more immediately grasped by knowing it was a setting of "Come away, Death"
This work was commissioned by the English Music Festival and first performed by the Southern Sinfonia conducted by Ronald Corp in Dorchester Abbey, Dorchester-on-Thames on May 27th 2008.
Duration about 11 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.