Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

JEFFREYS, John (1927- )
Concert Originals Series GMCO053

Catalogue Number: GMCO053

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222258570

View Score

Play Audio

Elegy for John Fry  Pack image
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

A violin distantly remembered is represented at the opening of the work by the first violins playing sul tasto. This gives way to a quartet and this, in turn, to the string orchestra, without the double basses until the monotoned triple motif appears: this later appears as the quiet tolling of the bells of death, relentlesslyincreasing to form the climax that quickly diminishes, and soon a solo violin is heard above the orchestra to aver that the memory of John Fry's sudden death is overcome by the more abiding memory of his playing. The work was written as a tribute to a fine violinist and conductor and as a release of the anger within that such a rare musician never received the public acknowledgment he deserved! (John Jeffreys)
Duration: 7 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score and strings 4/4/3/4/2

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.