Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

WALTERS, Gareth (1928- )
Concert Originals Series GMCO029

Catalogue Number: GMCO029

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222222113

View Score

Play Audio

Divertimento for Strings  Pack image
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This five-movement work was commissioned by the BBC for performance by its orchestra in Cardiff. The wording of the commission specified that the work should be based on Welsh folk-music. However, rather than employing folk tunes as such, the composer decided to develop short rhythmic or melodic elements present in some of those. In fact, only two traditional melodies appear in the work. A short quotation from one is used as a counterpoint in the second movement and the melody in the fourth movement consists of an embellished variant of "Lisa Lan".
Duration: 17 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score and strings 4/4/3/4/2

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.