Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

SHORT, Michael (1937- )
APOLLO CONCERTO No.4 for bassoon
Concert Originals Series GMCO010

Catalogue Number: GMCO010

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222229464

View Score

Play Audio

Apollo Concerto 4 (bassoon)  Pack image
Solo Bassoon, Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This concerto is in one continuous movement, consisting of three linked sections: Andante, Piu Mosso and Allegro con moto. A bassoon and piano reduction is also available for this concerto (catalogue number GM013).
Duration: 15 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

The Apollo Ensemble of Bath was formed by Eric Roseberry in 1989, and it's first concert included Michael Short's Serenade for strings. The composer continues: Also on the programme was a classical horn concerto, which made me realise that there is a need for more modern works of this type: light, elegant and accessible, playable by competent musicians and enjoyable for players and listeners alike. I therefore decided to make my contribution by composing six concertos for solo wind instruments and string orchestra. Each concerto would last for around fifteen minutes and be rehearsable within the two sessions the orchestra normally devotes to preparation of a concert, with the soloist being drawn from within the orchestra.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.