Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

SHORT, Michael (1937- )
APOLLO CONCERTO No.3 for clarinet
Concert Originals Series GMCO009

Catalogue Number: GMCO009

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222222359

View Score

Play Audio

Apollo Concerto 3 (clarinet)  Pack image
Solo Clarinet, Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

The first movement is a lively dance making use of ever-changing Bulgarian rhythms, while the second has something of the melancholy character of a jazz blues. The finale returns to the lively mood of the first movement, and after a clarinet cadenza recalling previous motifs, a brief coda brings the concerto to a close. A clarinet and piano reduction is also available for this concerto (catalogue number GM012).
Duration: 17 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

The Apollo Ensemble of Bath was formed by Eric Roseberry in 1989, and it's first concert included Michael Short's Serenade for strings. The composer continues: Also on the programme was a classical horn concerto, which made me realise that there is a need for more modern works of this type: light, elegant and accessible, playable by competent musicians and enjoyable for players and listeners alike. I therefore decided to make my contribution by composing six concertos for solo wind instruments and string orchestra. Each concerto would last for around fifteen minutes and be rehearsable within the two sessions the orchestra normally devotes to preparation of a concert, with the soloist being drawn from within the orchestra.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.