Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

SHORT, Michael (1937- )
Concert Originals Series GMCO005

Catalogue Number: GMCO005

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222216655

View Score

Play Audio

Serenade for Strings  Pack image
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This piece was written in 1981 for the Scottish Baroque Ensemble. I wanted to give them a piece in a lighter style which could be used in concerts as a contrast to more serious works, and following in the tradition of Holst's St.Paul's Suite and Brook Green Suite, the Serenade is intended to be entertaining for both listeners and players, while being within the capabilities of amateurs as well. The four movements contrast with each other, but all end quietly. The Badinage has some jazzy syncopations which alternate with a "folksy" tune, the pseudo-Baroque Chaconne and the Intermezzo both employ changing time-signatures, while the Country Dance has two simple tunes which eventually fade into the mists of time, with a final ghostly echo. (M.Short)
Duration: 16 minutes
A PACK comprises one full score and strings 4/4/3/4/2

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.