Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No.1 in D major Op.25
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL230

Catalogue Number: GMCL230

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222331389

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Classical Symphony  Pack image
Orchestration: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, Timpani
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

The Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25, also known as the Classical, was Sergei Prokofiev's first numbered symphony. He began to compose it in 1916 and completed it on September 10, 1917. It was composed as a modern reinterpretation of the classical style of Joseph Haydn and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The symphony's nickname was bestowed upon it by the composer. It premiered on April 18, 1918, in Petrograd, conducted by Prokofiev and it has remained one of his most popular works.
The symphony is in four movements:
Gavotte: Non troppo allegro
Finale: Molto vivace

A PACK includes a full score plus all wind, brass and timpani parts and strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 15 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.