Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Sergei Prokofiev
MONTAGUES & CAPULETS for orchestra
Arranged by Peter Lawson
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL228

Catalogue Number: GMCL228

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222330535

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Montagues & Capulets  Pack image
Orchestration: Piccolo (optional), 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor Anglais, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet, Tenor Saxophone (optional), 2 Bassoons, Contra Bassoon, 4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba,
Timpani, Percussion [3 players: Triangle, Snare Drum, Cymbal, Tambourine. Bass Drum], Harp, Celesta
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Montagues & Capulets, also known as Dance of the Knights, is from Prokofiev’s ballet Romeo & Juliet which was composed in 1935, but was substantially revised for its Soviet premiere in 1940. Prokofiev made three orchestral suites and a suite for solo piano from the ballet. This well-known movement is from Suite No.2, and has been used in advertisements and for television theme tunes amongst other things.
Some instruments have little to play in this movement of the Suite. The Piccolo and the Tenor Saxophone can be omitted, the latter has only a 3 bar solo which is cued into the bassoon.

A PACK includes a full score plus all wind, brass and percussion parts and strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 5 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.