Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Gustav Holst
INTERMEZZO (1891) for orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL216

Catalogue Number: GMCL216

Difficulty level: C What's this?

ISMN: 9790222323025

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Intermezzo  Pack image
This is the first published edition of Intermezzo H.App 1,12 (1891) edited by John Wright.
Orchestration: Flute, Clarinet in A (or Bb),
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
December 1891 was a busy time for Holst, as three of his compositions were performed at public concerts in Cheltenham. The Intermezzo received a performance at a Saturday afternoon concert at the Montpellier Rotunda. The local newspaper reported that the work consisted of an 'opening movement with muted first violin, with pizzicato accompaniment, and a tuneful melody in second part for clarionet and flutes' It goes on to say that 'the work was well received, and the youthful composer bowed his acknowledgements'.
A PACK includes a full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 7 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.