Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Victor Hely-Hutchinson
A CAROL SYMPHONY for orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL210

Catalogue Number: GMCL210

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222306592

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Carol Symphony  Pack image
Orchestration: 3 Flutes (3rd db. Piccolo), 2 Oboes (2nd db Cor Anglais), 3 Clarinets in A or Bb (3rd db Bass Clarinet in Bb), 3 Bassoons (3rd db Contra Bassoon), 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Tubular Bells, Harp or Piano
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
Optional: Flute 3, Oboe 2, Clarinet 3, Bassoon 3, Horn 3 & 4, Trumpet 3, Trombone 3 & Tuba may be omitted as these are cued in other instruments.

Christian Victor Hely-Hutchinson (26 December 1901-11 March 1947) was a British composer, born in Cape Town, Cape Colony (now South Africa) where his father was the governor from 1901 to 1910. After education at Eton College, Oxford University and the Royal College of Music (where he studied conducting under Adrian Boult), he returned to Cape Town to teach at the College of Music there. In 1926 he moved to London and joined the BBC becoming a conductor, pianist and accompanist. He moved to Birmingham in 1933 to become Midland Regional Director of Music for the BBC but left a year later to become Professor of Music at the University of Birmingham, taking over from Sir Granville Bantock. In 1944, he returned to the BBC in London to become Director of Music. The winter of 1947 was very long-lasting and to save fuel (which was still rationed), Hely-Hutchinson refused to switch on the radiators in his office. He developed a cold, which became pneumonia. He died on 11 March 1947 at the premature age of 45.
The Carol Symphony, written in 1929, is his best known work. The symphony has four movements and is based on traditional English Christmas carols: O Come, All Ye Faithful; God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen; The Coventry Carol; The First Nowell; Here We Come A-wassailing.

Previously available from the original publisher only as a somewhat illegible copy of the manuscript, this new Goodmusic edition is clearly laid out, with errors and anomalies corrected. A PACK includes an A4 sized score and a complete set of orchestral parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2. A large A3 sized score is also on sale.

Duration 24 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.