Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

PRELUDE in G minor Op.23 No.5 for orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Classics Series GMCL192

Catalogue Number: GMCL192

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222289550

View Score

Play Audio

Prelude Op.23 No.5 arr.Lawson  Pack image
2 Flutes (2nd db.piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, Contra Bassoon (optional), 2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Percussion (4 players: Tam-tam, Bass Drum, Glockenspiel, Snare Drum, Cymbal (clashed and suspended), Xylophone), Harp (or Keyboard)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Rachmaninov's Prelude in G minor is the fifth and best known of the Ten Preludes Op.23 which were written in 1901 and 1903. Together with the Prelude in C# minor and the later Thirteen Preludes Op.32, these form part of a full suite of 24 preludes in all the major and minor keys that Rachmaninov wrote for piano solo.
This G minor prelude is well-suited to performance by an orchestra and has been cleverly orchestrated by Peter Lawson in the style of Rachmaninov echoing the composer’s brilliant orchestration that can be seen and heard in his symphonies and piano concertos.
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 4 minutes
An orchestration of Rachmaninov's Prelude in C# minor Op.3 No.2 by Peter Lawson is also available in this Goodmusic Concert Classics series - see GMCL191.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.