Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

DUKAS, Paul (1865-1935)
Concert Classics Series GMCL154

Catalogue Number: GMCL154

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222269996

View Score

Play Audio

Sorcerer's Apprentice arr Ling  Pk image
Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 3 Clarinets in Bb, Bass clarinet, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Glockenspiel, Triangle, Cymbals, Bass drum)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Paul Dukas wrote his symphonic poem "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" in 1897. The story tells of an old sorcerer who goes out leaving his apprentice with chores to perform in his workshop. The apprentice gets tired of fetching water and casts a spell on a broomstick to do the work for him, using magic he has not yet fully learned. Soon, however, the workshop is awash with water, as he realises that he cannot stop the broom because he does not know the magic word to make it stop. He tries to destroy the the broom with an axe, but each piece of the broom becomes a whole new one, and each continues fetching water, now faster than ever. When all is apparently doomed in a massive flood, the sorcerer returns, breaks the spell and saves the day.
Duration: 9½ minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.