Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

ELGAR, Edward (1857-1934)
Concert Classics Series GMCL151

Catalogue Number: GMCL151

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222267893

View Score

Play Audio

Salut d'Amour  Pack image
Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)

In the summer of 1888, Edward Elgar went for a holiday with a long-standing friend, Dr Charles Buck of Settle, Yorkshire. As he left, his fiancee, Alice, gave him a poem she had written entitled Love's Grace. Whilst in Yorkshire, Edward wrote a short piece for her which he called Liebesgruss (Love's Greeting). On his return from holiday, Elgar presented the work to his wife and proposed to her. They married at the Brompton Oratory in London in May 1889.
Elgar submitted three versions of the work (solo piano, violin and piano, and an orchestral arrangement) to the music publishers Schott who bought the work outright for two guineas. The work sold slowly at first but when Schott retitled the work (with Elgar's approval) as "Salut d'Amour", the French title helped to improve international sales and it gradually achieved the popularity that it still enjoys today.
This edition is as Elgar composed it, save for some minor editorial tidying-up.
Duration: 3 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.