Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

ELGAR, Edward (1857-1934)
SOSPIRI Op.70 (arranged by Peter Lawson)
Concert Classics Series GMCL150

Catalogue Number: GMCL150

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222267534

View Score

Play Audio

Sospiri Op.70 (arr.Lawson)  Pack image
2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Harp
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
Sospiri ("sighs") was originally scored for strings, harp (or piano) and, rather peculiarly, harmonium (or organ). The latter instrument only served to muddy, rather than complement, the texture of the strings and restrict the number of performances and popularity of this neglected masterpiece. It is with this in mind that this new orchestration, replacing the harmonium with woodwind and brass, seeks to bring the work to a wider audience. Elgar was by no means averse to making arrangements of his own works; Sospiri also appeared in chamber versions. Although the wind instruments mainly take the notes allotted to the harmonium, there is a little 'filling out' as Elgar would almost certainly have made more use of the woodwind and brass than he has of the harmonium.
Duration: 5 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.