Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

ELGAR, Edward (1857-1934)
POMP and CIRCUMSTANCE MARCH No.4 in G (arranged by Richard Ling)
Concert Classics Series GMCL138

Catalogue Number: GMCL138

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222263932

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Pomp & Circumstance 4 (Ling)  Pack image
Piccolo (doubling Flute 3)*, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor anglais*, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass clarinet*, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Snare drum, Bass drum, Cymbals)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
(* = instruments optional)

Of Elgar's five Pomp and Circumstance Marches, the first in D is the best known (as it includes Land of Hope and Glory) followed closely by this one, number 4 in G. The origin of the title of these marches is a speech in Shakespeare's "Othello":
O now, for ever/ Farewell the tranquil mind! farewell content!/ Farewell the plumed troops and the big wars/
That makes ambition virtue!/ O farewell!/ Farewell the neighing steed and the shrill trump,/
The spirit-stirring drum, th' ear-piercing fife,/ The royal banner, and all quality,/
Pride, pomp, and circumstance of glorious war!

This arrangement has been made to make it more accessible to the average orchestra; the instruments marked with an asterisk in the orchestration list above may be omitted if necessary.

Duration: 5 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.