Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

ELGAR, Edward (1857-1934)
POMP and CIRCUMSTANCE MARCH No.1 in D (arranged by Richard Ling)
Concert Classics Series GMCL137

Catalogue Number: GMCL137

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222264557

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Pomp & Circumstance 1 (arr)  Pack image
Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, Bass clarinet*, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Snare drum, Triangle, Bass drum, Cymbals)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
(* = instruments optional)

Of Elgar's five Pomp and Circumstance Marches, the first in D is the best known as it includes Land of Hope and Glory. The origin of the title of these marches is a speech in Shakespeare's "Othello":
O now, for ever/ Farewell the tranquil mind! farewell content!/ Farewell the plumed troops and the big wars/
That makes ambition virtue!/ O farewell!/ Farewell the neighing steed and the shrill trump,/
The spirit-stirring drum, th' ear-piercing fife,/ The royal banner, and all quality,/
Pride, pomp, and circumstance of glorious war!

This arrangement has been made to make it more accessible to the average orchestra; the instruments marked with an asterisk in the orchestration list above may be omitted if necessary.

Duration: 6 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.