Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

MUSSORGSKY, Modest (1839-1881)
PROMENADE & THE GNOME (arr.Anthony Carter)
Concert Classics Series GMCL011

Catalogue Number: GMCL011

Difficulty level: C What's this?

ISMN: 9790222202313

View Score

Promenade & the Gnome (Carter)  Pk image
2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Clarinet 3 or Bassoon
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone and/or Tuba, Timpani (2 drums, 1 player), Percussion (Cymbals, Bass drum, Triangle, Glockenspiel or Chime bars, Side drum - 3 or 4 players)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Violin 3 or Viola, Cello, Bass), Piano (optional)

The parts are cued so that this arrangement can be played by strings only or strings and piano with any available wind and percussion. The 2nd oboe part is completely dispensable. The 3rd clarinet helps to cover the lack of bassoon where the bassoon part is within the range of the clarinet and does not go above the "break". The bass trombone/tuba part can be played by any form of bass brass instrument that uses the bass clef.
Duration: 4 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Within the Goodmusic Concert Classics series there are five packs which contain various movements from this suite. By combining these together it is possible to create a substantial suite of pieces lasting over 20 minutes in total. A suggested sequence of pieces is:-
1. Promenade 1 (from GMCL011)
2. The Gnome (from GMCL011)
3. Promenade 2 (from GMCL018)
4. The Old Castle (GMCL017)
5. Promenade 3 (from GMCL018)
6. Bydlo (from GMCL018)
7. Catacombs (from GMCL062)
8. Promenade 4 (from GMCL062)
9. The Great Gate of Kiev (GMCL005)

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.