Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Peter Lawson
HOLY THE NIGHT for choir and orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Chorals GMCH018

Catalogue Number: GMCH018

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222324220

View Score

Play Audio

Holy the Night  Pack image
A carol for Christmas adapted from the 2nd movement of Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in C minor Op.13 (Pathetique) with words by Peter Lawson arranged by Peter Lawson for choir with orchestra or piano
Orchestration:2 Flutes (2nd db.piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, 4 Horns in F (3 & 4 optional), 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Percussion (1 player: Cymbals)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
Choir (SATB or SA+Men or SSA or TTBB)

Holy, the Night is written to the well-known second movement of Beethoven's Sonata Pathetique, No.8 in C minor, Op.13. The appellation 'Pathetique' derives from the original publisher’s title Grande Sonate Pathetique - with Beethoven’s approval, though it refers, principally, to the dramatic, Grave opening of the first movement and the rather stormy Allegro di molto e con brio which follows it, rather than to the nature of the second and third movements.
The second movement, marked Adagio cantabile, has been employed in various different contexts by others since and, with this in mind, I thought that it’s hymn-like theme could become a suitable melody for a Christmas carol. I wrote words to it, describing the nativity scene in the lowly stable in Bethlehem. There are two contrasting episodic sections in which the words refer back to the Angel Gabriel appearing to Mary, telling her that she would be visited by the Holy Spirit and would bear God’s son, who would be known as Jesus. With the final return of the hymn-like theme, the Three Wise Men come to worship baby Jesus, bearing their gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. Mary and Joseph are greatly comforted and honoured by the kindness of the distinguished visitors from afar. Peter Lawson
A PACK includes a full score and a full set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.
The four different chorus parts are available separately [GM424/GM425/GM426/GM427]
Duration 4½ minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.