Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

G. F. HANDEL (1685-1759)
CONCERTO FOR VIOLA (transcribed by John Barbirolli)
Goodmusic Concert Cameos Series GMCA022

Catalogue Number: GMCA022

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222283732

View Score

Play Audio

Concerto for Viola  Pack image
Solo Viola
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This work was dedicated by John Barbirolli (1899-1970) to the Scottish born virtuoso violist and teacher William Primrose (1904-1982) who provided the fingering and bowing in the viola part. This transcription uses the following sources for the five movements:-
1. "Herakles" Act 1, Iole’s aria
2. "Rinaldo" Act 3, Almira’s last aria
3. "Alcina", Musette from the Overture
4. Introduction to "Delmiro amoroso", no.12 of Cantate con strumente Vol.1
5. Second movement of Sonata VI from Nine Sonatas or Trios for two violins, flutes or hautboys.
This edition was originally published in 1950 by Oxford University Press. This new edition has been re-typeset but is otherwise unchanged.
This orchestral score and parts are on sale and there is also a reduction for viola and piano available (see GM077). There are several passages in the solo viola part which are to be played only when accompanied by piano, but not when there is an orchestra present. These passages are cued in the orchestral full score and the solo viola part.
A PACK comprises one full score and string parts 4/4/3/4/2 plus one solo viola part.
Duration 15 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.