Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Edward Elgar
THE SERIOUS DOLL for solo and piano
Goodmusic GM166

Catalogue Number: GM166

ISMN: 9790222293861

View Score

Play Audio

Serious Doll (arr.Lawson) image
"The Serious Doll" is the second movement taken from Elgar's Nursery Suite for orchestra (also published by Goodmusic - GMCL201).
Elgar had been appointed "Master of the King's Musick" in 1924 and the Nursery Suite, written in 1931, was prompted by the birth in August 1930 of Princess Margaret. The work is dedicated to "The Duchess of York and the Princesses Elizabeth and Margaret Rose". In the original "The Serious Doll" features a flute solo. This has been adapted by Peter Lawson for various solo instruments.
The solo part can be played by: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Saxophone in Eb, Saxophone in Bb, Bassoon, Horn in F, Trumpet in Bb, Trombone, Tuba, Violin, Viola or Cello here with piano accompaniment. Parts are included for all solo instruments.
The orchestral version is also available - Goodmusic GMCA024.
Duration 2½ minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.