Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

William Alwyn (1905-1985)
for piano solo

Catalogue Number: 05546

ISMN: 9790222259423

View Score

Play Audio

Movements image
Completed in 1961 (and originally published by Chester Music), Alwyn's first major piece for piano solo after the 12 Preludes of 1959. In between these years Alwyn had suffered a nervous breakdown and, for a while, had lost the ability to compose. He was nursed back to health by his second wife, Mary (professional name - Doreen Carwithen) to whom the work is dedicated. The work consists of three contrasting movements entitled Allegro Appassionata, Evocation and The Devil's Reel. (Advanced) Duration 15 minutes.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.