1. Paul Lewis
      ECCLESBOURNE GLEN - An elegy for strings and harp
      Goodmusic Concert Originals GMCO159

      Product ImageGrade Image View Score

      Orchestration: Harp, Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
      Ecclesbourne Glen is a beauty spot on the south coast of England: a wooded valley with a stream toppling over sandstone cliffs to the sea near Hastings. In the 1960s and 70s I lived in Hastings Old Town and often walked with my dog across the East Hill through Ecclesbourne Glen to the Firehills beyond. In 1977 a writer friend, Alan Pemberton, equally enamoured of the landscape, wrote:
      I walked across the hills one day,
      I thought I heard them talking;
      The voice, it was the heart of man
      That beat as I was walking.

      I set the verse to music, and the melody of that unfinished work has, like memories of the glen itself, haunted me ever since, and forms the basis of Ecclesbourne Glen - an Elegy for Strings and Harp. Sadly the title might well have been Elegy on the Spoiling of Ecclesbourne Glen, for, partly due to the unauthorised development of the adjacent caravan site and the felling of protected trees, in 2014 a disastrous landslip engulfed the glen, burying footpaths and resulting in the closure of the entire area to the public. Though I no longer live in Hastings I often visit and always feel indescribably sad that I can no longer walk where I used to find so much joy and inspiration.
      The piece is dedicated to fellow composer Polo Piatti, who lives in Hastings Old Town and is similarly bereft at the loss of Ecclesbourne Glen. Paul Lewis

      A PACK includes a full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and a harp part.
      Duration 6 minutes

      Audio Sample

      Click the play button below to hear a performance which has been computer-generated from the score.

      Showing results 1 to 8 of 8

      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Pack (String Orchestra)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159      9790222305816      Level D

      Price: £24.00


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Score (Orchestral Score)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-00      9790222305823      

      Price: £5.00


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Violin 1 (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-01      9790222305830      

      Price: £1.25


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Violin 2 (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-02      9790222305847      

      Price: £1.25


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Viola (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-03      9790222305854      

      Price: £1.25


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Cello (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-04      9790222305861      

      Price: £1.25


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Bass (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-05      9790222305878      

      Price: £1.25


      Paul Lewis - Ecclesbourne Glen Harp (Orchestral Part)

      Catalogue Number: GMCO159-06      9790222305885      

      Price: £1.25

      Page: 1 | 1
    2. Refine Your Search

      Filter music for instrument:

      Your account

      Please login to view your account


      Popular now