Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Polo Piatti
THE IMPOSSIBLE PIECES for soloists and orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Originals No.177

Catalogue Number: GMCO177

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222314122

View Score

Play Audio

The Impossible Pieces  Pack image
Orchestration: 2 Flutes, Oboe, Cor Anglais, 2 Clarinets in A, 2 Bassoons, 4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in C, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (3 players: Triangle, Bass Drum, Cymbals), Harp (or Piano)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
Solo Trumpet in C (No.1 & 4)
Solo Clarinet in A (No.2 & 4)
Solo Violin (No.3 & 4)

The Impossible Pieces were conceived as four short individual pieces written for three world class soloists (clarinet, trumpet and violin), each leading the orchestra with a different melody while the orchestral accompaniment remains exactly the same. What makes the work unique is the surprise at the end, when all three soloists come together in a glorious finale with all three melodies slotting together seamlessly in the fourth piece. Constructed with a very elaborate counterpoint throughout, universally appealing, uplifting and with the flair and panache of a concerto but much shorter in length, The Impossible Pieces may be difficult to play (though not impossible!) making them true showcase works for virtuoso soloists.
The Impossible Piece No.1 for Trumpet in C & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.2 for Clarinet in A & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.3 for Violin & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.4 for Trumpet in C, Clarinet in Bb, Violin & Orchestra
The orchestra plays the same accompaniment for each piece. All four pieces can be played one after the other with the three soloists coming together for No.4. Alternatively, Nos.1, 2 or 3 would make ideal solo encore pieces if played alone. It would also be possible to perform No.4 with only two of the three soloists.

Duration 3½ minutes each piece - 14 minutes for all four one after the other

A PACK includes an A4 full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2 and one of each of the solo parts.
An A3 sized large score is also available separately.

The Audio is a computer-generated performance of all four pieces; trumpet solo first, then clarinet solo, then violin solo followed by No.4 when all three soloists fit together. Amazing!!

A piano reduction of the orchestral accompaniment is also on sale (GM335).

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.