Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

JEFFREYS, John (1927- )
Concert Originals Series GMCO055

Catalogue Number: GMCO055

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222263109

View Score

Violin Concerto  Pack image
Solo violin
Flute, Cor anglais, French horn
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

The opening is a slow introduction recalling the wide span of the River Exe at Bickleigh. On the opposite west bank there is a green meadow and upon this imagine a fiddler and country dance in progress: the attention wanders and the fiddler fades as nature reveals a more gentle approach in the brief Allegretto where the violin dreams before the attention returns to the fiddler at the dance. The slow movement is the wide river itself, leisurely in summer. The third and final movement contains elements suggested by its predecessors with alternative moods of graceful nature and dark clouds providing contrast and the work ends slowly as it began with the introduction transformed into the concerto’s epilogue. The river flows on.
Duration: 25½ minutes
A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

Also available as a violin and piano reduction (GM029).

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.