Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Frederic Chopin arr.Peter Lawson
THREE WALTZES Op.34 for orchestra
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL222

Catalogue Number: GMCL222

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222328914

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Three Waltzes Op.34 (Lawson)  Pack image
Orchestration: 2 Flutes (2nd db.Piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons
4 Horns in F (3 & 4 optional), 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Percussion [3 players: Triangle, Snare Drum, Cymbals (clashed), Tambourine, Bass Drum, Tubular Bells, Glockenspiel]
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Frederic Chopin (1810 - 49) wrote these three waltzes between 1831 (in the case of No.2 in A minor) and 1838. No.1 in A flat major, was written in 1835 and is on a grander scale than the others, recalling the earlier Grande Valse Brillante, Op.18. In fact the Op.34 set were originally entitled Grandes Valses Brillantes, but this title tends nowadays to be reserved for the earlier publication, partly to avoid confusion and partly because the two adjectives Grandes and Brillantes are inappropriate for the central A minor waltz, which is hauntingly sad and wistful. This waltz is also probably the best known of the three, partly for the very good reason that it is the easiest for pianists to play!
The third waltz, in F major, probably written in 1838, the year of their publication, enters with a fanfare, which soon dissolves into fast-moving quavers resembling an insect in flight before settling into a delightfully teasing, syncopated motif of running quavers, perhaps reminding the listener of two butterflies swirling round each other. A later section is characterised by a falling minor seventh followed by a skittish series of arpeggios decorated with grace notes, like peals of laughter - this motif returns in the coda, to end the piece in triumphant style. All great fun and utterly charming! Peter Lawson

A PACK includes a full score plus a full set of wind, brass and percussion parts plus strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 14 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.