Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Ottorino Respighi arr.David Good
Goodmusic Concert Classics GMCL220

Catalogue Number: GMCL220

Difficulty level: E What's this?

ISMN: 9790222327375

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Pines of the Appian Way  Pack image
2 Flutes, Piccolo, 2 Oboes, Cor Anglais, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, Contra Bassoon
4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones. Tuba
Timpani, Percussion (4 players: Tam-tam, Cymbals, Bass drum, Triangle), Piano, Organ
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

This final movement from "The Pines of Rome" portrays pine trees in the misty dawn along the Appian Way, the great military road leading into ancient Rome, as a triumphant legion advances along the road in the brilliance of the newly-rising sun. Respighi wanted the ground to tremble under the footsteps of his army. Apart from a large orchestra, the original score also calls for six offstage buccine (ancient circular trumpets) but in this arrangement their parts have been incorporated into the orchestral brass section. The strings, woodwind and percussion parts are almost entirely as Respighi’s original score. The Bass Clarinet solo near the beginning has been cued into the bassoon which means it, along with the Contra Bassoon, Piano and Organ, can be omitted. However, if you really want the ground to tremble as Respighi intended, the organ is a must! The A4 sized score included in the pack is clear and legible but a larger A3 sized score is available separately if you want to be able to read all the notes!
A PACK comprises a full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.
Duration 5 minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.