Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

WARLOCK, Peter (1894-1930)
CAPRIOL Suite for full orchestra
Concert Classics Series GMCL090

Catalogue Number: GMCL090

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222230781

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Capriol Suite for Full Orch.  Pack image
Orchestration: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Snare drum
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Peter Warlock wrote CAPRIOL a suite for piano duet and also produced a version for string orchestra, both of which were published in 1927. In 1928, he made this arrangement for full orchestra.
In 1588 a book on dance was published under the title Orchesographie et traite en forme de dialogue par lequel toutes personnes peuvent facilement apprendre et pratiquer l'honnete exercice des danses (or Orchesographie for short!) written by Thoinot Arbeau (an anagram of his real name, Jehan Tabourot, a canon of the cathedral at Langres). The material is presented in the form of a dialogue between Arbeau and Capriol, a lawyer. This explains Warlock's choice of name for his Suite 'based on dance tunes from Arbeau's Orchesographie'. An English translatIon was published 1925 of Arbeau's book, in which the musical illustrations were transcribed by Warlock who then produced his Suite based on a selection of these tunes.
The six movements based on these sixteenth century dance tunes are:-
Basse-Danse, Pavane, Tordion, Bransles, Pieds-en-l’air, Mattachins.

This Goodmusic edition was originally published in 2001 and corrected errors that were present in the original 1928 edition published by Curwen. It was revised in 2019 to improve the layout of parts.

Duration: 9 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.