Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

STRAUSS, Johann II (1825-1899)
Concert Classics Series GMCL066

Catalogue Number: GMCL066

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222221741

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

Blue Danube  Pack image
2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons
4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 1 Trombone, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Triangle, Side Drum, Bass Drum [2 players]), Harp or Piano
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Possibly the best known of all of the Strauss Waltzes, the Blue Danube (which is also called "The Beautiful Blue Danube" or even "On the Beautiful Blue Danube" - choose whichever title you like best!) is here presented in an edition faithful to the original except that the brass parts have been transposed into "modern" keys. The work is actually a "suite" of five different waltzes and a coda (a rather long coda considering it takes up about a quarter of the whole work!). Each waltz has repeated sections, usually a middle section, and then a "da capo". This normally leads to a good deal of confusion with many repeats and "dal segno" or "da capo" marks scattered through the parts. This edition includes the repeat marks but does away with all of the "dal segnos" which are written out in full, saving the conductor and the players much searching and page turning!
Duration: 10½ minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.