Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Polo Piatti
THE IMPOSSIBLE PIECES for soloists and piano
Goodmusic GM335

Catalogue Number: GM335

ISMN: 9790222314887

Download Available What's this?

View Score

Play Audio

The Impossible Pieces (Trp/Cl/Vln) image
Piano reduction of the orchestral accompaniment with copies of the solo parts included:
Solo Trumpet in C (No.1 & 4)
Solo Clarinet in A (No.2 & 4)
Solo Violin (No.3 & 4)

The Impossible Pieces were conceived as four short individual pieces written for three world class soloists (clarinet, trumpet and violin), each leading the orchestra with a different melody while the orchestral accompaniment remains exactly the same. What makes the work unique is the surprise at the end, when all three soloists come together in a glorious finale with all three melodies slotting together seamlessly in the fourth piece. Constructed with a very elaborate counterpoint throughout, universally appealing, uplifting and with the flair and panache of a concerto but much shorter in length, The Impossible Pieces may be difficult to play (though not impossible!) making them true showcase works for virtuoso soloists.
The Impossible Piece No.1 for Trumpet in C & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.2 for Clarinet in A & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.3 for Violin & Orchestra
The Impossible Piece No.4 for Trumpet in C, Clarinet in Bb, Violin & Orchestra
The accompaniment is the same for each piece. All four pieces can be played one after the other with the three soloists coming together for No.4. Alternatively, Nos.1, 2 or 3 would make ideal solo encore pieces if played alone. It would also be possible to perform No.4 with only two of the three soloists.

Duration 3½ minutes each piece - 14 minutes for all four one after the other

The computer-generated audio here is of No.4 with all three soloists playing together with the piano accompaniment.
For the orchestral version see GMCO177 where you can listen to a computer-generated performance of all four pieces; trumpet solo first, then clarinet solo, then violin solo followed by No.4 when all three soloists fit together. Amazing!!

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.