Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications, Bardic Edition & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Michael Blake
Bardic Edition BDE1013

Catalogue Number: BDE1013

ISMN: 9790502446772

Download Available What's this?

View Score

String Quartet No.4 image
String Quartet No.4 was my contribution to the Fitzwilliam String Quartet’s fortieth anniversary collection: pieces based on the Purcell Fantazias for four viols. The ensemble has included these remarkable pieces in their repertoire for many years, and were looking for new works which would complement and reference the earlier pieces. String Quartet No.4, my shortest to date, takes its cue from Purcell’s Fantazia No 6, Z737, which ideally should precede it in performance. The material is derived partly from Mozambican accordion music, which I transcribed myself. The first performance was given by Quatuor Atkhamar on 22 November, 2014 at the Ars Musica Festival in Bruges as part of the marathon evening ‘Night of the String Quartet’. Michael Blake

Score and parts included.
Duration 4½ minutes

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.