Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

NICOLAI, Otto (1810-1849)
Concert Classics Series GMCL144

Catalogue Number: GMCL144

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222268630

View Score

Play Audio

Christmas Overture  Pack image
2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani
Optional SATB choir and organ
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Carl Otto Ehrenfried Nicolai was born in Konigsberg, Germany, on June 9th 1810 and died in Berlin on May 11th 1849. He was a composer and conductor. His best known work is his opera The Merry Wives of Windsor based on Shakespeare's comedy. In addition to five operas, Nicolai composed works for orchestra, for choir and for solo voice.
This 10 minute overture is based on the Chorale "Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her". The choir and organ join in for the last 1½ minutes and are doubled by the brass section so can safely be left out to make this a seasonal orchestral overture.
Duration: 10 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2 including one copy of the choir/organ part.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.