Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

Alexander Borodin (orch.Rimsky-Korsakov)
Goodmusic Concert Classics Series GMCL159

Catalogue Number: GMCL159

Difficulty level: F What's this?

ISMN: 9790222273528

View Score

Play Audio

Polovtsian Dances  Pack image
Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor Anglais, 2 Clarinets in A/Bb, 2 Bassoons
4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Glockenspiel, Triangle, Tambourine, Side Drum, Cymbals, Bass Drum), Harp
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
Borodin composed his opera "Prince Igor" between 1869-70 and 1874-87 but it remained unfinished when he died in February 1887. The score was completed, revised and orchestrated by Alexander Glazunov and Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. This concert version of the Polovtsian Dances which comes from Act 2 of the opera was extracted and orchestrated by Rimsky-Korsakov.
Although the clarinet parts change from Bb to A at various times, this edition also includes a part completely transposed into Bb for clarinettists who do not have an A clarinet. It sometimes means some awkward keys . . . . . !
Duration 11½ minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.