Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

HOLST, Gustav (1839-1934)
JUPITER: The Bringer of Jollity from "The Planets" (arr.Richard Ling)
Concert Classics Series GMCL136

Catalogue Number: GMCL136

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222264359

View Score

Play Audio

Jupiter (arr.Ling)  Pack image
Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor anglais*, 3 Clarinets in Bb, Bass clarinet*, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Glockenspiel, Tambourine, Triangle, Cymbals, Bass drum)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)

Jupiter is the fourth of seven movements in The Planets Suite which Holst begun composing in 1914. He completed the suite in 1916 but the first complete public performance did not take place until 1920. It was an immediate success and has remained so ever since. He later used the lovely centre section for the hymn "I vow to thee my country". The original was for a large orchestra. This arrangement has been made to make it more accessible to the average orchestra; the instruments marked with an asterisk in the orchestration list above may be omitted if necessary as any essential notes they have are cued in other parts.
Duration: 6½ minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.