Skip to content

Music Publishers - Goodmusic, Roberton Publications & Leslie Music Supply

01684 773883

DELIUS, Frederick (1862-1934)
Concert Classics Series GMCL147

Catalogue Number: GMCL147

Difficulty level: D What's this?

ISMN: 9790222268173

View Score

Play Audio sample

On Hearing the First Cuckoo  Pack image
Flute, Oboe, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)

Frederick Delius was born in Bradford in Yorkshire, the fourth of fourteen children of Julius and Elise Pauline Delius who had moved to England from Bielefeld, Germany to set themselves up in the woollen business. His father wanted Frederick to work in the family business, but Frederick had other ideas and pursued a career in music living most of his life abroad in the United States and continental Europe especially France.
"On hearing the first cuckoo in spring" was written in 1912 and became one of the "Two Pieces for small orchestra", the other being "Summer night on the river" (which is also available in the Goodmusic Concert Classics Series (no. GMCL148).
Duration: 6 minutes
A PACK comprises an A4 sized full score plus a complete set of parts including strings 4/4/3/4/2.

Your Basket Close basket

Your basket is empty.