1. G. F. HANDEL transcribed John Barbirolli
      CONCERTO for viola and piano
      Goodmusic GM077

      Product Image View Score

      This work was dedicated by John Barbirolli (1899-1970) to the Scottish born virtuoso violist and teacher William Primrose (1904-1982) who provided the fingering and bowing in the viola part. This transcription uses the following sources for the five movements:-
      1. "Herakles" Act 1, Iole’s aria
      2. "Rinaldo" Act 3, Almira’s last aria
      3. "Alcina", Musette from the Overture
      4. Introduction to "Delmiro amoroso", no.12 of Cantate con strumente Vol.1
      5. Second movement of Sonata VI from Nine Sonatas or Trios for two violins, flutes or hautboys.
      This edition was originally published in 1950 by Oxford University Press. This new edition has been re-typeset but is otherwise unchanged.
      The orchestral score and parts are on sale (see GMCA022 where you can also hear the work) apart from this reduction for viola and piano. There are several passages in the solo viola part which are to be played only when accompanied by piano, but not when there is an orchestra present. These passages are cued in the orchestral full score and the solo viola part.
      Duration 15 minutes

      Audio Sample

      Click the play button below to hear a performance which has been computer-generated from the score.

      Showing results 1 to 1 of 1

      George Frideric Handel - Concerto for Viola (Barbirolli) (Viola and piano)

      Catalogue Number: GM077      9790222283817      

      Price: £7.00

      Page: 1 | 1
    2. Refine Your Search

      Filter music for instrument:

      Your account

      Please login to view your account


      Popular now